Government to maximise infrastructure life and spend

The Queensland Government will boost the role of the Property and Infrastructure Cabinet Committee (PICC) to make the infrastructure decisions that drive the state’s economic growth. 

The Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning, Jeff Seeney, said the PICC had already proved its worth in overseeing the successful implementation of the planning reform commitments of the Newman Government.

He said the committee would also be charged by the premier to reform how the state’s infrastructure is prioritised and delivered across the whole of government.

“The premier has made it plain that we must have a more disciplined approach to infrastructure decisions, get better value from the state’s infrastructure assets and get the private sector more involved in infrastructure provision," Seeney said.

“This is about contestability across all areas of government so the right infrastructure, which will deliver the best outcomes, is progressed.”

Seeney said the committee would be guided by the government’s blueprint for infrastructure reform: Infrastructure for Economic Development, released today.

“In developing Infrastructure for Economic Development we worked closely with Infrastructure Queensland, established by us, with public and private sector leaders, to advise government on infrastructure issues,” he said.

“Infrastructure Queensland strongly supports these reforms.

Infrastructure for Economic Development also outlines the government’s commitment to develop a 10 year state infrastructure plan, and for government agencies to provide greater transparency in how state assets are managed through total asset management plans. 

Infrastructure for Economic Development forms an integral component of the Governing for Growth framework which sets out actions to foster greater state economic growth.”

The committee members are the Deputy Premier, the Treasurer and Minister for Trade Tim Nicholls, the Minister for Transport and Main Roads Scott Emerson, the Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection Andrew Powell, the Minister for Local Government, Community Recovery and Resilience David Crisafulli, the Minister for Housing and Public Works Tim Mander, the Minister for Energy and Water Supply Mark McArdle and the Assistant Minister for Planning Reform Rob Molhoek.

The document is at:

Community Discussion

Be the first one to comment on this article
What would you like to say about this project?